This site uses cookies to offer you the best user experience possible. In continuing to browse, you are consenting to accept both the aforementioned cookies and our cookies policy..

Scores and music books: quality, creativity and service always accessible for you.

0.0 / 5  (0 votes)

Quartetto op. 3/1

Quartetto op. 3/1-Chamber Music-Scores Intermediate

Inside Pages



Manuel Canales (1747-1786)

Critical Edition

Abili Fort


Scores Intermediate


Chamber Music Nr. 1


Spanish, Catalan, Music, English




Manuel Canales (1747-1786) is the first Spanish composer who is known to have composed string quartets. He is also the first in number-of-quartets written, since 12 of his quartets have come down to us. He was born in Toledo, where he studied. After holding a post at Toledo cathedral, he spent a few years in the service of the House of Alba in Madrid. He returned to Toledo cathedral in 1776, where he stayed until his death in 1786.
His opus 3 quartets were published in England in 1782. The collection comprises six quartets, and the copy we used is kept in the National Library in Madrid.
With this first quartet we are now publishing, we have sought to produce a revised edition suited both to those interested in true-text editions and to those simply seeking a practical performing edition. We have followed the original, including the original markings, as far as possible. We have tidied up the dynamics markings where needed, adding any extra ones required, though being guided in this by the score markings. We have also added any accidentals that were missing.
We would like to thank Salvador Mas and the Canales quartet for their advice, though any mistake remaining is our responsibility.
Abili Fort

Instrumental and vocal formations

String Quartet


Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello

Technical Specifications


19' 15''


21 x 29,7 cm, vertical


Stapled. Folded parts.

Number of Pages


Number of parts


Number of Pages of Parts





DINSIC Publicacions Musicals

Also collaborating:

Cover Designer

Ludovica Mosca

Leave a comment:

Area for comments on the publication. For orders, questions or doubts, please contact us through our Contact Mailbox.

DINSIC Publicacions Musicals, S.L.
Warehouse: Sepúlveda, 84 - 08015 Barcelona (Calàbria / Metro L1 Rocafort)
From Monday to Friday 9:30 - 13:30
Tels. +34 93 832 69 46
Copyright © 1998-2020
This portal is designed to work with the latest versions of the principal navigators: Firefox 4.0, Google Chrome 3.0, Internet Explorer 9.0. The use of non-compatible navigators or deactivation of some properties such as Javascript compatibility or blocking cookies may reduce the sites functionality. If you are accessing the site through a firewall or a porxy, make sure cookies are enabled.